Sunday, 13 March 2011

Set Theory and Higher-Order Logic at Birkbeck

Summer School on Set Theory and Higher-Order Logic:
Foundational Issues and Mathematical Developments

London, August 1-6, 2011

This is an interdisciplinary summer school, consisting of four days of mini-courses (August 1-4) and a subsequent two-day conference (August 5-6), all hosted at the Institute of Philosophy in London. The goal of this summer school is to provide a forum in which set theorists and philosophers of mathematics -- as well as students of these disciplines -- can interact and discuss recent results and debates at the intersection of set-theory and higher-order logic. Topics to be represented at the summer school include but are not limited to: the semantics for higher-order logics, Omega-Logic, groundedness, set-theoretic geology, interpretability and incompleteness, predicativity, and formal theories of truth.

The mini-course speakers include: Joan Bagaria (Barcelona), Fernando Ferreira (Lisbon), ‪Luca Incurvati‬ (Cambridge), Joel Hamkins (CUNY), Leon Horsten (Bristol), Hannes Leitgeb (Munich), Jouko Väänänen (Helsinki), Phillip Welch (Bristol), and Albert Visser (Utrecht). In addition to a large subset of the mini-course speakers, the conference speakers include: Donald A. Martin (UCLA) and Gabriel Uzquiano (Oxford).

This summer school is made possible through generous support provided by: the Plurals, Predicates, and Paradox Project (European Research Council), the Ideals of Proof Project (L’Agence nationale de la recherche), the Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy (Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung), and the New Frontiers of Infinity Project (European Science Foundation).

This support also makes it possible to offer ten 200 GBP student stipends to help defray costs for students. The stipends will be allocated on the basis of merit and need. To apply, please send a brief CV, along with any information about need, to Sean Walsh (email below) prior to May 1, 2011.

Organized by: Michael Detlefsen (ANR and Notre Dame), Hannes Leitgeb (Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy), and Øystein Linnebo (Birkbeck).

Questions? Please contact Sean Walsh (Birkbeck) at swalsh108 at gmail

No comments:

Post a Comment