Wednesday, 9 April 2014

15th Congress of Logic, Methodology, and Philosophy of Science



University of Helsinki, Finland, 3-8 August 2015


The Congress of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science (CLMPS) 
is organized every four years by the Division of Logic, Methodology 
and Philosophy of Science (DLMPS). The Philosophical Society of Finland, 
the Academy of Finland Centre of Excellence in the Philosophy the Social
Sciences (TINT), the Division of Theoretical Philosophy (Department 
of Philosophy, History, Culture and Art Studies) are proud to host the 15th
Congress of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science (CLMPS 2015).
CLMPS 2015 is supported by University of Helsinki and the Federation 
of Finnish Learned Societies.

CLMPS 2015 is co-located with the European Summer Meeting 
of the Association for Symbolic Logic, Logic Colloquium 2015 
(the abstract submission for Logic Colloquium 2015 opens in early 2015).

The congress will host six plenary lectures and several invited lectures.
The names of the plenary lecture speakers and invited speakers will be
announced soon.

and AFFILIATED MEETINGS in 17 thematic sections:

A. Logic

A1. Mathematical Logic
A2. Philosophical Logic
A3. Computational Logic and Applications of Logic
A4. Historical Aspects of Logic

B. General Philosophy of Science

B1. Methodology
B2. Formal Philosophy of Science and Formal Epistemology
B3. Metaphysical Issues in the Philosophy of Science
B4. Ethical and Political Issues in the Philosophy of Science
B5. Historical Aspects in the Philosophy of Science

C. Philosophical Issues of Particular Disciplines

C1. Philosophy of the Formal Sciences (incl. Logic, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science)
C2. Philosophy of the Physical Sciences (incl. Physics, Chemistry, Earth Science, Climate Science)
C3. Philosophy of the Life Sciences
C4. Philosophy of the Cognitive and Behavioural Sciences
C5. Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences
C6. Philosophy of the Applied Sciences and Technology
C7. Philosophy of Medicine
C8. Metaphilosophy

In addition, some submitted abstracts will be invited to contribute 
to the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science (IUHPS) Joint
Commission Symposium Sessions if the programme committee considers 
the abstracts well suited for IUHPS themes.

CONTRIBUTED PAPERS: Please submit an abstract of 300 words prepared 
for autonomous review. Accepted contributed papers will be allocated 
in total 30 minutes (20 min for the presentation + 10 min for the discussion).

CONTRIBUTED SYMPOSIA: Please submit an abstract of max. 1700 words prepared
for autonomous review.

The abstract should include: (i) a general description of the format and the topic 
of the proposed symposium and its significance (up to 500 words); (ii) a 300-word 
abstract of each paper (3-4 papers)

Each accepted contributed symposia will be allocated a full two-hour session.

AFFILIATED MEETINGS: Affiliated meetings are half-day to full day symposia
that run parallel to the CLMPS 2015 programme, and belong to the congress
programme. Please consult the CLMPS 2015 submission guidelines for further


+ Maximally one contributed individual paper
+ One is allowed to present a second paper of which one is a co-author, 
but then the main author of this paper must submit the paper and be registered
as a participant.
+ If one participates in a contributed symposia proposal, affiliated
meeting proposal or is an invited speaker, one is not allowed to submit 
an individual contributed paper in which one is the main author (it is
possible to be a co-author of a contributed paper, but then the main author
of this paper must submit the paper and be registered as a participant).

Abstracts should be submitted by using the CLMPS 2015 registration form:

Authors are kindly asked to consult the detailed submission guidelines before submitting:

All questions about submissions should be directed to the congress sectary,
Ms. Päivi Seppälä ( The members of the program me 
committee, DLMPS committees and the local organising committee are listed here

Hannes Leitgeb (Chair of the Programme Committee)
Ilkka Niiniluoto (Chair of the Local Organizing Committee)

No comments:

Post a Comment